## **Public Document Pack**



### **BLACKPOOL COUNCIL**

Tuesday, 9 January 2024

**Dear Councillors** 

## Special Council meeting – 11 January 2024

Please find attached the Extended Order of Proceedings in relation to agenda item 3, Appointment of Honorary Aldermen.

Howe Yewes.

Director of Governance and Partnerships

·----





# BLACKPOOL COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

### 11 January 2024, 6.00pm in the Council Chamber

## **Order of Proceedings**

#### 1. Seating

Council members and invited guests to their seats in the body of the Chamber, prior to the start of the meeting.

#### **BUSINESS:**

- 2. Apologies for absence
- 3. Declarations of interest
- 4. Announcements
- 5. Appointment of the Honorary Aldermen

**To propose:** Councillor Lynn Williams

"To confer the title of 'Honorary Alderman' of the Borough of Blackpool under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 to former councillors Don Clapham, Gary Coleman and Allan Matthews."

**To second:** Councillor Paul Galley

#### 6. Speeches of support

The nominated spokespersons will be invited to address the Council and in line with standing orders for civic meetings the speeches will not be time limited:

#### For Mr Don Clapham

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Danny Scott Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Lynn Williams

#### For Mr Gary Coleman

Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Ivan Taylor

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Michele Scott

#### For Mr Allan Matthews

Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Fred Jackson Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Paul Galley

This will then be voted upon.

## 7. Presentation of an Honorary Alderman pendant from the Mayor (Councillor Gillian Campbell) to each of the Honorary Aldermen

After the appointment of the Honorary Aldermen, each Honorary Alderman in turn will be presented with a pendant from the Mayor and have the opportunity to address the Council.

**Note** – the mover (Councillor Lynn Williams), seconder (Councillor Paul Galley) and spokespersons from each party (Councillors Ivan Taylor, Fred Jackson, Michele Scott and Danny Scott) are invited to join the Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Honorary Aldermen and their guests in the parlour afterwards for light refreshments.